Follow Jesus as Lord

Follow Jesus as Lord

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

 
Galatians 5:22 (NIV)

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

How do you relate to your rescuer?

Imagine you are swimming in the sea and you get severe cramp – and the tide is taking you further and further from shore. About to drown, you scream “Help! Help!”. A strong swimmer hears your shout and rescues you.
Which word best decribes your rescuer? My Saviour? Or My Lord?
The fact that the other swimmer saved you doesn’t automatically make him your lord. That would be a step on from thanking him that he had saved you – that would need a further declaration from you:
”If it hadn’t been for you, I wouldn’t be alive. Therefore, I now give you my life. You have won the right to be my lord. Tell me where you want me to work and live. I am your bond-servant now and you own my life. I will always love you for saving my life.”
The centre of your will is like a throne, and before you became a Christian you ruled your own life from that throne. You made choices yourself – rarely, if ever, consulting God.
Becoming a Christian means giving your life to Jesus Christ to be your Saviour – but also to be your Lord. The Christian confession is a continuous: “Jesus is Lord!” The challenge is to live that out in a meaningful way. It doesn’t come naturally – but on the other hand, we’ll always have the best life can offer when we leave the choices up to Him – He doesn’t make mistakes!

• What were some of the results of being lord of your own life?

The paradox is that this ‘letting go’ is also the ‘taking hold’ of the abundant life He died to offer you, a life characterised by the fruit of the Spirit which is “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, gentleness, goodness, faithfulness and self-control (Galatians 5:20)

Still trying to be king?

The tragedy is that quite a lot of Christians have accepted Jesus as Saviour but are still wavering on giving Him the right to reign as Lord – described in the Bible as ‘worldly’ or ‘double minded’. Carrying on as a self-owned, self-governed person stunts your growth, When Jesus is not Lord of all, he is not really Lord at all!

Settle the matter of Jesus’ Lordship!

The worldly Christian never gets to know the deep things of God Sins are never confessed, strongholds remain unbroken, and life is up one minute and down the next. Don’t allow yourself to be like this!
Here’s a prayer to use constantly: “Lord Jesus, I choose Your will in place of my will. I gladly give You the throne of my life and the rights to my life. I am Your servant.”
If you can pray that sincerely, with the intention of letting Him guide you in all your decisions, you’ll get better and better at learning to listen to His voice, and find the peace of knowing you are doing what pleases Him. Because He loves you so deeply, there’s a particular connection – and it overflows as joy – in walking with Him.

Leave a Reply

